The Republic of Birds


Publication Date: 3 Mar. 2020
Format: Paperback / softback

ISBN 9781922268044

    16.99 16.99 16.990000000000002 AUD

    16.99

    Option not available

    This combination does not exist.

    Add to Cart


    From young rising star Jessica Miller comes this richly imagined fantasy adventure, an unmissable addition to the genre for readers of Jessica Townsend, Karen Foxlee and Philip Pullman.

    A land of forbidden magic.
    A book of ancient maps.
    And a story of courage and sisterly love.

    Magic is banned in Stolitsa. Any girl showing signs of being magical is whisked away to Bleak Steppe-to a life, so the stories go, of unspeakable horror.

    So when strange things begin to happen to Olga, she knows she has a dangerous secret, one she must guard with great care.

    But then the birds take the thing most precious to her, and Olga knows she must summon all her courage to go into the Republic of Birds to get it back.

    It's an impossible task-unless she can find a way to unlock her hidden magic.

    Information

    Book Type: Junior Chapter
    Age Group: 9 years +
    Traffic Lights:
    Class Novel: Yes
    Good Reads Rating: 5/5
    Literary Rating: 5/5

    Review

    When Olga's father is banished to the desolate Borderlands for displeasing the Queen, the Oblomov family's downfall appears complete. As the new Minister for Avian Intelligence, he has to report on the Republic of Birds -- the kingdom's enemy -- and maintain the peace between the two.

    Her father is an ambitious man, and seeks redemption by orchestrating a search for a fabled firebird egg. Whoever hatches the egg would control the firebird -- a formidable weapon.

    But the Bird Queen has been observing them and knows of their plan. She kidnaps Olga's younger sister Mira, forcing Olga to search for the egg alone. On her quest, Olga discovers that she's a Yaga (Slavic name for a woman with magical power). This ability helps her to find the egg, rescue her sister and -- most importantly -- set the firebird free.

    This captivating story draws you into a magical tale of exile, envy, and adventure. A truly wonderful and quite heart-warming read set in an unforgettable fantasy world. Highly recommended.

    Themes

    family, exile, love, envy, friendship, belief, magic, quests, cartography, fantasy, birds, rescue

    Content Notes

    Yaga/witches live in sheds that move about on chicken legs. They only have magical control over one subject. Thus, Olga has an affinity with maps. She can feel the water or snow or sand depicted on paper and eventually is able to jump to the places the map shows.

    How to Use the Site:

    MEMBER DISCOUNTS: For Member pricing, please sign in to your Book Curator account.
    WISH LISTS: Signing in will also allow you to create a wish list. Just choose the heart icon on each product you want to add. To view your list, click on the heart icon at the top right of your screen.
    COMPARING PRODUCTS: To compare products, use the scales icon.
    TO VIEW OR COMPLETE YOUR ORDER: Click on the cart icon at the top right of your screen.
    SHIPPING: Enjoy the low flat rate of just 12.95 shipping and handling to anywhere in Australia, no matter how large your order is.